Bevan Graybill

Board Chair

Bevan earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Kansas and her juris doctor from the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Bevan is currently working as a staff attorney for a judge on the Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals and recently received a certificate in Nonprofit Leadership from Oklahoma City University. Bevan also serves on the board of directors for the Young Nonprofit Professionals Network of Oklahoma City, is the leader of the OKC Chapter of the KU Alumni Association, and is a member of St. Luke’s United Methodist Church.

Curtis Calvin

Board Vice Chair

Mr. Curtis Calvin currently serves as Deputy Director of Education and Outreach for the Oklahoma Educational Television Authority (OETA).  In that capacity, he is responsible for providing support at the state level for early childhood education, common education and adult education.  Prior to working with OETA, Mr. Calvin served in various capacities within the public health and public education industries.  Mr. Calvin is driven by his personal passion “…to provide all Oklahomans with the tools necessary to gain access to life’s best options.”

Kathleen Lienke


Kathleen Lienke is Director of Library Media Services for Oklahoma City Public Schools (OKCPS).  Development of long-range library media and library technology plans for building-level and district library media services is central to her work.  She holds a B.A. degree from City University of New York, Queens College; a M. Ed. degree from Oklahoma City University; and a M.L.I.S. degree from the University of Oklahoma.  Kathleen has served in various capacities for Oklahoma Library Association (OLA), Oklahoma School Librarians (OKSL), and Delta Kappa Gamma Society International (DKG).  She is a past member of both the Children’s and Intermediate Sequoyah Award Committee.

Kathleen has many favorite books!  One she reads over and over again is The Holy Man by Susan Trott.  It is a delightful series of stories that will soothe your soul and make you smile.

Scott Butcher


A native Oklahoman, Scott was born in Tulsa, grew up in Shawnee, and went to college in Norman. He now lives in Oklahoma City with his wife, child, and dog and works for Crowe & Dunlevy. He started reading at an early age after learning the alphabet using those multi-colored refrigerator-magnets. A graduate of NYU School of Law, Scott’s law practice is focused on natural resources, energy, and the environment. His support for OKCMLC and the work of its member organizations is founded on a personal belief that literacy is indispensable to self-determination.

Mary Surbeck

Board Member

Mary Surbeck has a BA in English from Oklahoma State University and studied for a MALS at Dartmouth College. She received a Certificate in French Studies at the University of Montpellier. From those beginnings, Mary taught French, Choral Music and directed theater productions at Casady School for 29 years. She ended her working career at Oklahoma City Community Foundation as the literacy grant coordinator.

As part of the literacy work at OCCF, she developed a passion for adult literacy and worked in coordination with wonderful folks to create a literacy network for Oklahoma City, the Oklahoma City Metro Literacy Coalition. Her dream is to see literacy become a community focus and to call Oklahoma City “a City that reads.”

Betsy Mantor

Board Member

Betsy Mantor is a Founding Charter Member of our organization.  She served as Board President for 7 years and currently serves as Treasurer.  Betsy is also a past President of the Junior League of Oklahoma City and has been volunteering for the past 20 years in the Oklahoma City and Edmond community. She currently shares her time with the Junior League of Oklahoma City, Youth Services of Oklahoma County, Smart Start Central Oklahoma, Edmond Historical Society, Boy Scouts of America and St. John the Baptist Catholic Parish.  She recently retired after nine years as a Teacher’s Assistant to the 2nd Grade at St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School.

Alexandra Ah Loy

Board Member

Alexandra is a lifelong resident of Oklahoma. She earned her B.A. in Psychology from the University of Central Oklahoma in 2009, with accompanying minors in French and Public Administration. She earned her Juris Doctor from Oklahoma City University School of Law in 2012, where she graduated cum laude. She currently works as an Associate Attorney at Johnson Hanan & Vosler in downtown Oklahoma City and teaches U.S. Government as an adjunct professor at Redlands Community College in El Reno, Oklahoma.

Anika Wilson

Board Member

Anika Wilson is a native of and resides in Oklahoma City. Her love for medicine started at an early age. She attended Millwood High School and later attended college at Dillard University majoring in Public Health & Biology. Her educational background segued her into the field of Epidemiology and Research. She completed two master degrees in Business Administration and Management Sciences at Southern Nazarene University in 2000. Anika also serves on the board of directors of Black Professionals Under 40 and is a member of St. John Missionary Baptist Church. Currently, she is employed at Oklahoma City Public Schools as Community Relations Administrator and an Adjunct Professor at two area universities.

Erin Carlstrom

Board Member

Erin Carlstrom has worked at Feed The Children since 2002. She currently serves as Director of Education Programs. Founded in 1979 and consistently ranked as one of the largest international charities in the United States, Feed The Children delivers food, medicine, clothing and other necessities to individuals, children and families who lack life’s essentials. Erin was instrumental in developing three regional Teacher Stores at Feed The Children. The stores provide free books and educational resources for high poverty schools benefiting over 100 school districts.  The stores had over 14,000 teacher visits in 2013. A fourth Teacher Store will open in 2014.